News + Advocacy

Call for Nominations: 2016 Preservation Awards

Posted on

Call for Nominations: 2016 Preservation Awards

Every year the Conservancy presents Preservation Awards to individuals and projects that represent exemplary contributions to the preservation of Santa Monica’s architectural and cultural heritage. These awards showcase the accomplishments of those who have invested time and resources in the revitalization of Santa Monica’s historic places.

Since 2004, award-winning projects have included residences, commercial and institutional buildings, and places of significance ranging in scale from small to large. They have included restoration, renovation, rehabilitation, adaptive reuse, and contemporary additions to historic buildings and homes. Awards are also presented to individuals for their stewardship of historic properties as well as for community service contributions as volunteers and as advocates of preservation. A complete history of the Preservation Awards can be found here.


2424 Fourth Street, Brecht House, Horation West Court. Photos courtesy of DUB Architect and Brian Thomas Jones.

Past winners: Horatio West Court, John and Anna George House, and Brecht House. Photos courtesy of DUB Studios and Brian Thomas Jones.


Nominate a person, structure or group for a 2016 Award! Send an email to and include:

  1. A brief description of the individual, organization or project, and why you believe it warrants an award. A specific award category can be included in your proposal, but is not mandatory.
  2. Your contact information (name, address, phone number).
  3. A photo if possible.

This year’s awards jury – Margaret Bach, Mike Deasy, Barbara Flammang, David Kaplan, and Ruthann Lehrer – is eager to hear from you.  Deadline for nominations is January 15, 2016.

The awards presentation will be held at the Conservancy’s 2016 Annual Meeting on March 12 in the Grand Pavilion at Saint Monica’s Church. It’s a not-to-be missed event, as we celebrate, recognize, and are inspired by, the people and the projects that bring preservation to life in Santa Monica.

Preservation Awards Guidelines:

You don’t need to specify what category you think fits your nomination, but the definitions below may be helpful:

Restoration: work to bring a building back to its historically authentic condition.

Rehabilitation: a broad term meaning bringing a historic resource back into service.

Renovation: includes remodeling and renewing, and can include the addition of contemporary design elements to a historic structure.

Adaptive Reuse: the adaptation of a historic structure to a new use, ideally with minimal impact on the structure’s character-defining features.

Stewardship: long-term care and maintenance of a historic building or place.

Volunteer and Service: recognition for outstanding contributions by individuals and groups in preservation efforts with the Santa Monica Conservancy.

President’s Award:  recognition for an outstanding contribution by an individual or group that exemplifies excellence in commitment to preservation, stewardship, and/or promoting Santa Monica’s history.

David G. Cameron Preservation Award: an exceptional honor, named in memory of one of Santa Monica’s pre-eminent preservationists, presented only when the occasion merits – “to individuals or organizations in recognition of their outstanding accomplishments in preserving Santa Monica’s unique heritage, and for promoting the value of historic preservation in the City.”

This entry was posted in Preservation Awards, Santa Monica Conservancy and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.